SharePoint Products Business Productivity End-User Tools SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense
 

SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense Featured

Send Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense

SharePoint ShortUrl is a SharePoint solution that allows the creation and use of vanity and shortcut hyperlinks fully integrated within the SharePoint environment. Developed and supported by SharePoint Sense Limited, SharePoint ShortUrl is used and trusted by many of the top companies worldwide!

SharePoint ShortUrl makes emailing links, putting them into documents or even saying the links over the phone much simpler and less error prone.

SharePoint ShortUrl is a SharePoint solution that allows the creation and use of vanity and shortcut hyperlinks fully integrated within the SharePoint environment. Developed and supported by SharePoint Sense Limited, SharePoint ShortUrl is used and trusted by many of the top companies worldwide!

Features include:

  • Unlimited Shortened Hyperlinks.
  • Auto link Updates to already created ShortUrl's for Items with properties changed.
  • Shorten Everything Feature.
  • Ability to create multiple ShortUrl's for content.
  • Office Web Apps ShortUrl's.
  • Date expiry for short lived Hyperlinks.
  • Hyperlink ownership for audit trails.
  • Very easy to use, no training required.
  • Very easy to install.
  • Tightly integrated with SharePoint.
  • Reduces Errors.
  • Improves productivity.
  • Allows vanity hyperlinks.

ShortUrl allows the creation and use of vanity and shortcut hyperlinks. Too often and especially with large complex installations, the structure of a SharePoint site collection can lead to enormously long hyperlinks, which makes for ugly and error prone hyperlinks.

For example, compare the following hyperlink to a folder in a document library:

https://yoursite/clients/abc%20company/Shared%20Documents/Forms/AllItems.a spx?RootFolder=%2fclients%2fabc%20company%2fShared%20Documents%2fClient%20 Requirements&FolderCTID=&View=%7b80C7 6B49%2dFA92%2d490E%2dAFBF%2d8A07F9C73 CCE%7d

When you use ShortUrl, it can also be: https://yoursite/ShortUrl

This makes emailing the link, putting it into documents or even saying it over the phone much simpler and less error prone.

A shortened hyperlink can be created directly from the items context menu in a standard Document Library and if one has already been created, you can instantly copy the shorter hyperlink to the clipboard.

All the shortcuts are stored in a regular SharePoint List which allows all the standard functionality of audit trails, workflow, security permissions, item approval and so on, to naturally dovetail with this new functionality.

 

Image Gallery

SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense

Editor review

SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense 2013-03-08 20:07:01 Todd Klindt
Rating 
 
4.5
Reviewed by Todd Klindt    March 08, 2013
Last updated: March 11, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews

Size Matters – Smaller is Better

I was impressed with many aspects of ShortUrl. One of those aspects is that SharePoint ShortUrl is written as SharePoint software, and it stores all the ShortUrls as items in a SharePoint list. When the ShortUrl Feature is activated at the Web Application scope, a list named “shorturl” is created at the root of the web application. That list stores all the ShortUrls and allows some management of them.

Product Reviews

Pros
SharePoint ShortUrl has a few ways you can use it for your URL-shortening needs. You can enable the Features that correspond to the functionality you want. In my case, this was for an anonymously accessed blog, and I needed short URLs only for specific blog posts and various other files. After the ShortUrl is created, you have some options to get out the good word. You can copy the ShortUrl to your clipboard or email it to someone.
Cons
When I was testing their software, I noticed a bug. When an anonymous user clicked a ShortUrl, they were prompted for authentication. After some testing, it turned out this was because of how ShortUrl updated the Hit Count for the ShortUrl. ShortUrl was not written for anonymous sites in mind. It was written with internal users in mind, I was trying to use the software in a way it wasn’t necessarily intended. I reported that to the SharePoint Sense folks and thanked them for allowing me to test their software, but unfortunately it wasn’t a good fit. About a week later I got an email back from them; they had fixed the bug and wanted me to take another look at the software. I was amazed by this.
Version Reviewed
2011
Was this review helpful to you? 
100
Report this review
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Rating 
 
4.8  (3)
Ratings (the higher the better)
Rating*
Product Reviews
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense 2014-02-13 07:31:15 Jorma Oksanen
Rating 
 
4.5
Reviewed by Jorma Oksanen    February 13, 2014

SharePoint ShortUrl

We migrated from another CMS to SharePoint and needed a replacement for our previous short url implementation. We installed a trial version of ShortUrl from SharePoint Sense, found a bug and reported it to the company. We were amazed to receive a fixed copy only hours later. While the product is not perfect the authors are keen to make it so. We are now using ShortUrl in public production farm and it does exactly what it promises. Well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense 2013-04-24 22:55:38 Dave Hamu
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Dave Hamu    April 24, 2013

SHAREPOINT SHORTURL BY SHAREPOINT SENSE

We are very happy with the product

Product Reviews

Pros
SharePoint Sense has provided us with a very useful product. The flexibility of the product is observed in several key areas:

1) The ability for content authors to view a comprehensive list of shortened URLs
2) The ability to create a short URL for a URL with query string.
3) The ability to pre-populate the key information to shorten the current page.
4) The fact that the tool keeps track of counts of the hits against the Short URLs
5) The product works very well and efficiently.
6) Support from the supplier has been outstanding.

There are many other nice features, but these are some of the key pros.
Cons
Just a minor issue relating to confirmation of creating the SURLs. However, SharePoint Sense have been great about investigating and working through issues to address solutions and adding features that increase productivity with the tool.
Version Reviewed
5.0
Was this review helpful to you? 
40
Report this review
SharePoint ShortUrl by SharePoint Sense 2013-03-25 18:10:52 Philip Wintermyer
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Philip Wintermyer    March 25, 2013
Last updated: March 27, 2013

Great URL Shortener for SharePoint

We had been a user of a competing product for shortening SharePoint URL’s but were looking for additional functionality. We found the tool from SharePoint Sense and installed a trial copy. It addressed about 90% of the gaps we identified with our existing tool. We contacted SharePoint Sense and they agreed to enhance the product to close the remaining gaps. Response and quality of the enhanced version was terrific. We have just recently installed the tool in our Production SharePoint Internet environment and our users have provided nothing but positive feedback.

Great tool at great price!

Was this review helpful to you? 
60
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews
© 2013 SharePoint Smart LLC. All rights reserved.