SharePoint Products Findability Search Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight
 

Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight

Send Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight

BA Insight's Longitude extends the search capabilities of SharePoint Server and Microsoft Search Server. It improves usability and relevance, empowering users to find and reuse information 10X faster than any other product in the market place.

Longitude's usability improvement is based on a break-through user interface which presents users with the most relevant pages in a document in less time than it takes to download a webpage. This enables users to rapidly pin-point relevant content while significantly reducing network traffic.

Longitude improves relevance by automatically tuning the SharePoint ranking algorithm. It extends Microsoft Search technology, it doesn't replace it.

Core Search Features

  • Page Previews - Users are presented with the most relevant page in the document instantly.
  • Relevance Optimization - Longitude automatically tunes and optimizes the SharePoint ranking algorithm to the unique characteristics of your company.
  • Automatic meta-data tagging - Users automatically tag relevant content when they search for information and find relevant content.
  • Enhanced People / Expertise Search - Longitude provides essential features to MOSS People Search. Faceted Navigation, Support for multi-value fields, Wild Card operators, Enhanced Sorting Capability and More!
  • Parametric Navigation - Often called Guided Navigation, Parametric enables users to build complex queries leveraging any meta-data that is available. Parametric Navigation is Advanced Search as it was meant to be.
  • ...And Much More!
 

Image Gallery

Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight

User reviews

Average user rating from: 10 user(s)

Rating 
 
4.7  (10)
Ratings (the higher the better)
Rating*
Product Reviews
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2013-02-14 15:16:50 Andrea
Rating 
 
2.5
Reviewed by Andrea    February 14, 2013
Last updated: February 14, 2013

TSP - Collaboration

Seems that the product works well to integrate sharepoint with popular connectors but needs to be heavily customized when used to integrate websphere or other products, especially when the ACL must be kept in considertations

Product Reviews

Pros
The product has a lot of features and is built to let the user to index and retrieve content from a large number of different repositories and disparate Technologies.
Cons
A lot of customization is required, I've evaluated it for a customer proof of concept and to address the poc, the bainsight team has asked more than one month of customization. Seems that the product is more a framework rather than a product with out of the box features.
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2011-10-04 18:39:53 Andreas Bendl
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Andreas Bendl    October 04, 2011

Longitude Delivers an excellent product

We ran two development environment setups and a pilot which is becomming production. Their technical staff was responsive and supportive in helping us get this setup. We are company of less than 150 employees and have a small IT staff - and we were able to lean on the support staff as needed during the setups - a real asset for us.

Product Reviews

Pros
Excellet Product, Excellent Service!!
The product displays nice silverlight previews with searched for tags and properties highlighted. Full views give details like hit count per page,and there are enhanced features right off of the preview - like sending the document to someone. Our company will just be scratching the surface as we propogate this throughout, but the immediate visual information from the previews is compelling.
Cons
Almost none - disk space for the extra previews, if you could count any. Some knowledge of Managed Properties helps for parametric search.
Version Reviewed
4.1.79104
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2009-12-08 17:47:56 Ian Bagnald
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ian Bagnald    December 08, 2009

Bridges the search gap

Excellent Product, Excellent Support

Product Reviews

Pros
Preview functionality is excellent
BA-Insight does a great job of documenting and supporting the product
Bridges the gap between Out of Box MOSS Search and user expectation
Cons
Found Parametric search feature difficult to setup; but this was more a matter of understanding managed properties
Version Reviewed
3.4.2361.144
Was this review helpful to you? 
31
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2009-12-03 20:39:14 Geoff Milford
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Geoff Milford    December 03, 2009

Just what I needed

Thiis Longitude product is just what my users had asked for in SharePoint. The comapany worked with me to offer me the best price for my needs. I am very pleased with our purchase and the support I have received.

Product Reviews

Pros
Icreased search configurations, keywords highlighted in text body, each word has different color, document preview
Cons
Not found yet
Version Reviewed
3.4.2437
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2009-12-03 17:04:25 Amber
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Amber    December 03, 2009

Excellent for Searching

This product is above and beyond the standard search for MOSS in many ways. The results and preview functionality make it a top end product to use and you can quickly navigate and browse documents to find what you're looking for. The taxonomy and customization of Longitude are excellent, and users can really drill down to narrow a search without going through pages and pages of search results. The tech support for this product is excellent. If you have a problem you're getting a response sometimes immediately and always within the day.

By far the preview feature of documents has put this product above and beyond all the others out there for searching. We researched a number of other products and this one hits the mark not only on functionality but on price. They have an excellent sales team and are very easy to work with.

Product Reviews

Pros
Previewing a document
Navigating throught the Taxonomy
Tech Support
Cons
Not all document types can be previewed but that seems to be changing daily
Version Reviewed
3.5
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2009-12-03 14:38:03 Roger Gimblet
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Roger Gimblet    December 03, 2009

My business users are ecstatic

As a large global organization with technical research teams located worldwide, ensuring each of the research teams were aware of what data was available for them to leverage was a difficult task. Even if the user knew where the information was located, finding the required data in the repository often proved to be a challenge. Longitude gave us the ability to easily customize our search experience to better meet the user expectation.

Product Reviews

Pros
Seamless integration with MOSS
Easy to configure
Great support team
Ability to preview documents
Faceted searching
Enhancement of the relevancy algorithm
Cons
For large implementations ( millions of documents) it takes a long time to create the previews and the Logitude preview database gets very large. That said, these are minor issues compared to the functionality that it provides.
Version Reviewed
3.5
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2009-12-02 18:38:07 Carol Corneby
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Carol Corneby    December 02, 2009

Longitude has provided the bridge for the users

As a global organization implementing a standard compliant document and record management solution for a variety of client teams it was important that we provided client teams with a consistent and superior search experience to accommodate different teams and deparment taxonomies. The search experience would need to provide value to the organization as it changed from a traditional network share file storage to SharePoint. Additionally, the Search Product needed to have the flexibility change properties users would be able to do faceted search as our business changed without endless customizations and regression testing. We find that the using Longitude Webparts, cuts down on our configuration, testing and deployment time.

Product Reviews

Pros
Great faceted search - it provides the ability for the users to more easily broaden or narrow search results. Previews of documents are a great feature. Users rave about the ability edit properties and go to file location from search results. SharePoint Administrators find the tool easy to install and configure.
Cons
No email or attachment previews.
Version Reviewed
3.5
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2009-12-02 14:51:23 Hao Ngo
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Hao Ngo    December 02, 2009

BAInsight Longitude enhances search

We are very happy customers of the product. Longitude definitely adds alot of value to search and I couldn't imagine using search without it now.

Product Reviews

Pros
The search previews generated gives you quick insight into whether the related document is relevent to your search. The search term highlighting is a nice feature as well. Being able to jump quickly to the relevent page is a nice feature. The interface is very nice, intuitive and performs well. The relevancy ranking algorithmn is a nice feature as well. We are very happy with the product.
Cons
The installation process can be bumpy, but their support staff is very knowledgable, friendly and eager to help.
No end user tagging (promised on future software roadmap).
Version Reviewed
3.4.2437
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2009-12-01 23:46:56 Bill Rishsew
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bill Rishsew    December 01, 2009

BA Insight's Longitude search for SharePoint

The biggest selling feature for me is the prompt support before, during and after purchase.

We have had nothing but good comments from our users about the search.

Product Reviews

Pros
Seamless integration w/MOSS 2007
Outstanding support
Very good documentation
Cons
None at this time
Version Reviewed
3.5
Was this review helpful to you? 
20
Report this review
Longitude Search for SharePoint with Document Preview by BA Insight 2009-11-30 22:42:26 Guy Wiggins
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Guy Wiggins    November 30, 2009

Longitude is a significant enhancement to Sharepoi

As a law firm that works with long legal documents, often in PDF format, we wanted a way to improve the functionality of Sharepoint search results. While Sharepoint's search engine is fast, the need to click on a result and wait for the file to open before seeing it was burdensome to our users. Longitude solved this problem elegantly. The SVG preview files come up instantly in the browser and you can jump right to the relevant page from the Longitude search results. So let's say that in a 100 page legal brief, the key term you are looking for is on pages 10, 45 and 90. Now, with three quick clicks the attorneys can jump to those pages and see them in the preview before deciding to open the document - shaving many seconds of time off the process. With regular Sharepoint, you'd have to open the document (which can take a while if the file is large), then use the search feature in Word or Acrobat to try and find the term again - a slow process that is not nearly as intuitive.

Longitude also provides an excellent faceted search feature as part of its UI that is well designed and customizable.

Another neat feature is that when a certain document is looked at frequently, Longitude tracks this in its database and adds stars to it, increasing the document's relevance. This feature tells users that this document has been looked at or downloaded by other users.

The company was very responsive and worked closely with us to ensure that our questions were met. Customer service has been excellent.

BA-Insight Longitude allowed us to dramatically extend the functionality of OOTB Sharepoint search without the need to replace the search engine with a far more complex and expensive product.

Product Reviews

Pros
Document Previews including the ability to jump to the relevant pages where the key words are found, Strong Faceted Search, well designed UI.
Cons
No hit highlighting with scanned PDF's, the preview (SVG) files are not compressed for scanned Acrobat files. (They are for Office files.) When dealing with millions of documents, your database can get very large. No end user tagging feature. (This has been promised in future release.)
Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
 
Powered by JReviews
© 2013 SharePoint Smart LLC. All rights reserved.